Getting my hands dirty

Today, for the first time in months I got my hands dirty in the garden again. We had planted some purple climbing beans and three of them had come up. One very strong, one intermediate and one a little behind the others, we planted out the stronger ones and It felt so good to be nurturing a growing thing again. I didn’t realise how much I missed gardening, and tending to a few little plants. I was so absorbed in the process though, I didn’t take any photographs, but I will take some once I get completely moved in.

Emily, my housemate has done most of the work up til now but I am looking forward to getting my hands back into the soil again very soon. So far we have

  • Kale
  • Chinese vegetables
  • Cabbages
  • Spring onions
  • Purple climbing king beans
  • Broccoli
  • Lettuces

Once I move in, I plan to plant pumpkin seeds and then as the seasons progress, strawberries and tomatoes, dwarf peas, cucumber, zucchini and capsicums.

Feeling the warm, living soil on my hands today I experienced a renewed connection with mother Gaia.

It was a healing moment.

Leave a Reply

