Brash Bandicoot?

Southern brown bandicootIt seems that I have got a bandicoot in my garden! On the one hand, I am thrilled about this, because that is an endangered native animal that has decided that my yard is a safe place. We don’t have a dog, and our cats are kept indoors at all times, so that would be two ticks in our favour with this little critter.

On the other hand, I am kind of worried that at some point, I am going to put my foot in one of his many holes and do myself an injury! Mind you, I have never actually seen the Bandicoot itself. Only the holes in the lawn where the little digger has been, and the occasional hollowed out mandarin when they’re in season.

Distinctive conical dig of a foraging bandicoot
Photographer – John Broomfield
Source – Museum Victoria

I had been puzzled by these small, conical holes in the lawn and mentioned them a couple of times to Sandra, but finally got to show her one, today. She said that her parents always said Bandicoots dug in the lawn like that, and a little bit of research tonight has proven that theory correct.

It’s kind of cool to think that there’s a bandicoot in my yard. I’d love to catch a glimpse of it, but they are very shy, nocturnal creatures, long gone before I am awake and moving around the yard in the morning. I will just have to content myself with seeing the evidence of their passing through –and get used to putting my seedling pots up out of reach. I suspect that this little critter has been pinching my nasturtium seeds, hence why the last two lots I have planted failed to germinate!

 

 

Leave a Reply

