Simplicity

Everywhere I go lately, I see, or hear this word. Simplicity. It’s starting to feel like there’s something in it. Some message that I am supposed to be hearing. It’s becoming insistent, hard to ignore when the word shows up over and over and in just about every place I go.

What does it mean? Simplicity…

I guess there is the obvious meaning of ease. Something that is easy to accomplish is considered simple. Something tells me though, that simplicity is not easy. Simplicity can also be defined as stupidity, but I don’t think that’s the message I am being asked to absorb either.

One definition of simplicity says that:

Simplicity is knowing when one more rock would be too many, and one less rock would be too few. But it’s not just knowing the right number of rocks, it’s also knowing which rocks are right, and how to arrange them.
(Unknown)

The image I have used to illustrate this post is simple, but it’s also beautiful. It’s uncluttered, peaceful, it lacks anxiety, it gives a sense of stillness and peace. That is what I think the word simplicity means. To be all of those things and to reduce the stress, the clutter, the anxiety in my life. To rest, to cease from striving and just BE.

In returning and rest shall ye be saved; in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength…
Isaiah 30:15


3 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. Funny, I just posted a short article on simplicity and made it my theme for the week and then I stumbled upon your post! Here’s the quote from my post: The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary so that the necessary may speak.

    Source: Hans Hofmann

    Nice to meet you and your blog.

    Nick

Leave a Reply

