Some Quotes I Like

Memorial plaque dedicated to Mother Teresa by ...

Image via Wikipedia

“Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.”
Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

This has been one of my favourite positive quotes for a very long time. It is such an encouraging piece of counsel which urges me to follow my dreams, no matter how crazy they might seem. I first heard this quote used in a movie which I can’t recall the title of, about a woman who taught blind children and she used it to encourage them to pursue their dreams.

Interestingly, although the above quote is attributed to Goethe, it’s probably not something he said or wrote, but more likely a paraphrase of some lines from Faust, which was written by Goethe.

“He has shown you, O mortal, what is good and what the LORD requires of you. Do justice, love mercy and walk humbly with your God.”
Micah 6:8

This is from the Bible, obviously, and is pretty much the motto I seek to live by. ‘Nuff said.

“If you judge people, you have no time to love them.”
Mother Teresa

Mother Teresa said some very wise things in her time, and this is one of two quotes of hers that I really like. It’s simple, direct, to the point and packs a punch that needs no further explanation, IMO.

“I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.”
Mother Teresa

This one just makes me smile. There’s just such sweet humour and irony in it. You can almost hear the little grimace in her voice when you read this one. I thought it would be the best quote to end this post on.

 

Leave a Reply

